“I’ve no idea when I’m going to wear it, the girl replied calmly. I only knew that I had to have it. Once I tried it on, well… She shrugged. The dress claimed me.” ― Isabel Wolff, A Vintage Affair

I’ve been feeling in a fashion-y mood lately, especially with the research I’ve been doing for the next production I’m working on. I thought I’d gather a few images of dresses I just think are beautiful for your feasting pleasure:

Jacques Fath, 1951

Wonderful sleeves and voluminous skirt on a Jacques Fath design, 1951. Found here.

Irene-Silk brocade and chiffon dress, 1958

Irene Lentz-Gibbons – Silk brocade and chiffon dress, 1958. Found at Coletterie.com in a very interesting article about Irene here.

Evening Dress - Antonio Castillo

The most beautiful embroidery on an evening dress by Lanvin, made by Antonio Castillo, 1957. Found in the wonderful V&A online collection here.

Balenciaga Haute Couture-A_W 1967

Balenciaga Haute Couture-A/W 1967. Found on Pinterest and pinned to my fashion board here. I love the unusual shape and exciting embellished front.

1950s Silk Chiffon Beaded dress

Lovely 1950s Silk Chiffon Beaded dress. Found on an now sold Etsy listing here.

Floor length dresses, while not inherently practical, are marvellously romantic and make me want to swish around in them all day long, possibly through a field in summer…

4 thoughts on ““I’ve no idea when I’m going to wear it, the girl replied calmly. I only knew that I had to have it. Once I tried it on, well… She shrugged. The dress claimed me.” ― Isabel Wolff, A Vintage Affair

  1. Love this post!! I would totally wear the last one, the 1950’s Silk Chiffon Beaded dress, for prom. It’s so gorgeous; elegant and unique.
    Thanks for sharing these!

Leave a Reply

